click picture to
enlarge |Artist: Linda
Sponsor: Rep. Ray & Suzanne
Dedication: February 7,
Size: 5' x 7'
Type: Oil on Canvas
Location: 4th Floor, House
Long before Route 66 cut its way through the state, a building
destined to become a landmark was conceived and built in
spring of 1898, William Harrison Odor, members of his family
and his neighbors began construction on a unique barn structure
in the green countryside of Oklahoma. Odor
believed a round barn would withstand an Oklahoma tornado.
He fashioned the rafters from green lumber soaked in water
from the nearby Deep Fork River. The rafter was then shaped
to form the exact curve of the roof. The Round Barn
is two stories high, with a diameter of 60’ and a
height of 45’. The
upstairs loft has a wooden floor and an architecturally impressive
barn was new, the lower level was used to shelter cattle,
mules and hay. The upper level or loft was used for barn
dances and other social gatherings. In
1988, the barn was donated to the Arcadia Historical and
Preservation Society, who restored the Round Barn with
a group of volunteers.
Images are copyright
of The Oklahoma State Senate Historical Preservation Fund,
Inc. and the artist. Please contact Sandra Shelton at
521-5663 or firstname.lastname@example.org for
further copyright information.