Thin page divider
Thin page divider
  • DATE:
  • TIME:
  • First Meeting
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2018
  • 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
  • Room 535, State Capitol Building
Thin page divider
  • 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. - IS 18-38, Senator Rob Standridge, Study on School Bullying
    • Steve Hahn, director of anti-bullying collaboration for The Parent Child Center of Tulsa
    • Abigail Siglin, high school student
    • A New Leaf residents: adults with disabilities will share their personal stories of bullying with the assistance of Coordinator Phillip Hughes
    • Dr. Trish Hughes, associate professor at Oklahoma State University
    • David Chaney, superintendent of Epic Charter Schools, with video presentation of "This Is Me"
    • Beverly Wood and Rebecca Jericho, parents of Epic Charter Schools students in "This Is Me" Alexis Russell, former Epic Charter Schools student, and mother Tiffany Odom
    • Seth and Jennifer Sutherlin, a student and parent
    • Marlie McDonald, Trinity School OKC
    • Video presentation of "Alone with Ty"
  • 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. - IS 18-39, Senator Rob Standridge, Study on Innovation in Education
    • Chuck McCauley, superintendent of Bartlesville Public Schools
    • Lance Seeright, executive director of Le Monde International School
    • Cecilia Robinson-Woods, superintendent of Millwood Public Schools
    • Nikhil Kawlra, lead founder of Collegiate Hall
    • David Chaney, superintendent of Epic Charter Schools
    • Clair Bartley, founder and director of Paths to Independence
    • Robert Sellers, executive director of the Opportunity Scholarship Fund
    • Tiffany Neill, executive director of curriculum and instruction, Oklahoma State Department of Education
  • 2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. - IS 18-28, Senator Ron Sharp, Study on Classification Reform for OSSAA Members
    • Dr. Jim Beckham, superintendent of Blanchard Public Schools
    • Dr. Kent Shellenberger, assistant professor at Southern Nazarene University and former superintendent of Bethany Public Schools
    • Randy Davenport, superintendent of Holdenville Public Schools
    • Jim Dixon, high school football coach for Sulphur Public Schools
    • Jason Stratton, parent of a high school athlete
    • Rocky Clarke, girls' basketball coach at Washington Public Schools and president of the Oklahoma Girls Basketball Coaches Association
    • Phil Barnes, tennis coach at Duncan Public Schools
    • Mike Whaley, associate director of the Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association
  • Education Committee Members:
    • Senator Gary Stanislawski, Chair
    • Senator Ron Sharp, Vice-Chair
    • Senator Mark Allen
    • Senator Micheal Bergstrom
    • Senator Josh Brecheen
    • Senator JJ Dossett
    • Senator Tom Dugger
    • Senator Eddie Fields
    • Senator Allison Ikley-Freeman
    • Senator Dewayne Pemberton
    • Senator Paul Scott
    • Senator Jason Smalley
    • Senator Anthony Sykes
    • Senator Roger Thompson
  • Study Requested By:
    • Senator Rob Standridge for IS 18-38 and 18-39
  • Senate Staff:
    • Erin Boeckman, Legislative Analyst
    • Chris Turner, Attorney
    • Leigh Garrison, Fiscal Analyst
    • Kaycee Valencia, Admin. Assist.
Thin page divider
Meeting Related Materials