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BEST PRACTICE 

• FULL BOOK DOWNLOAD TWICE A MONTH OR 
MORE 

• IICMVA MODEL WITH VIN ONLY (aka broadcast or 
unknown carrier) VERIFICATION 
– Best of both worlds, a reliable (95% or better) database 

is created allowing for proactive enforcement  

– Real time check to fill in the gaps between full book 
downloads 

– Directed real time checks to confirm coverage are 
reliable because VIN mismatches are reduced to less 
that 5% during the matching process 
• Note:  Do not use the IICMVA model elements for the full book 

download, there are not enough data fields for effective 
matching 

 

 



DATA ELEMENTS 
FULL BOOK DOWNLOADS 

• Utah and Texas: 
– Our formats have between 16 and 22 mandatory data 

elements 
• The key is one record per driver per vehicle, i.e. a family of 2 

with 2 vehicles give us 4 chances to make an acceptable match 
• We have a series of 16 algorithms that are applied is a 

cascading method to create a mathematical probability of an 
acceptable match 

• IICMVA 
– The only mandatory elements that can be used for 

matching are the NAIC, Policy Key (which has 
challenges for some companies) and the VIN all of 
which must match exactly 

– Even if you a company submits the optional elements 
there is only one record to match to and includes name 
only, no vehicle specific information except VIN 



NEXT BEST 

• Full Book download twice a month or more 

– The only thing you loose is the real time check 
before you send a letter or registration 
withdrawal notice 

– Note:  The IICMVA real time check should 
NEVER be used to override the database for 
enforcement (issuing a citation or towing a 
vehicle) purposes 



The Keys to Reducing the Uninsured 
Motorist Rate 

• The key is an effective law: 
– Owners must know they are required to purchase 

and maintain liability insurance 

– Owners must believe they will be identified if they 
fail to purchase and maintain liability insurance  
• Reliable information provided automatically for police 

officers at points of contact 

• Letters sent to vehicle owners that are believed to be 
uninsured 

– Cited drivers must know they will be convicted if 
cited and suffer those consequences and letter 
recipients must know their registration will be 
revoked/suspended and that they will pay the 
reinstatement fee  

 

 



FUNDING THE PROGRAM 
 

• The best option is to add a small, 50 cents to $1.00 fee on 
all registrations and pay the vendor a potion of that fee 
– The advantage is that this method is inflation proof, i.e. if the number of vehicles up, 

revenue and the payment to the vendor goes up and vice versa. 
– It also creates a surplus that can be used to fund other projects as authorized by the 

legislature 
 

• Another option is to fund the program with funds 
generated by fines or administrative fees.  The challenge is 
the program is not funded at start up and the more 
successful the program is, the lower the funding level 
becomes 
 

 
  



THE TEXAS SYSTEM 

• Every week all insurance companies writing 
liability policies in Texas submit a full book 
of business 

• The Motor Vehicle division submits all the 
changes to their database every week 

• All submissions are monitored and tracked.  
If there are any anomalies the company is 
contacted personally to resolve the issue 
  



TEXAS CONTINUED 

• Policies are matched to vehicles every week 
and a new “insured” database is created. 

• The new database is sent to our partner, 
HDI. 

• HDI has programs that identify uninsured 
vehicles and on a scheduled basis sends 
notices to the owners of the vehicles 
identified as uninsured  
– This will change under the new contract, Texas 

has chosen to stop the letter campaign 



TEXAS CONTINUED 

• The new data is made available to law 
enforcement (Note:  Commercial vehicles are 
currently exempt, but will be included under 
the new contract) 

• Drivers are being cited and in some counties 
the vehicle is towed based on information 
provided from the database 

• A customer service call center is available to 
resolve issues related to the letters or law 
enforcement action 

 



TEXAS HIGHLIGHTS 

• Driver license matching is not part of the 
insurance database by DPS choice 

• There are no administrative consequences 
based on information in the database 

• We produce an uninsured by ZIP code report 
every quarter that could be used to target high 
risk areas 

• Even without administrative sanctions, the 
Texas system has reduced the overall 
uninsured rate from 25% to 12%   (Note:  The 
match rate and uninsured rate has been validated by a 
Texas State audit) 



The Utah System 

• In 1995 the Sponsor of the Utah bill called press conferences and participated 
in a number of PSA’s before the first letter was sent or the insurance 
information was made available to law enforcement 
– Note:  The uninsured rate dropped from 24% to 17% based on the PSA’s alone 

• Law enforcement receives insurance information automatically every time they 
request vehicle or driver license information 

• Insure-rite supplies affidavits to prosecutors and upon request will actually 
testify 

• A list of uninsured vehicles is sent weekly to the Utah DMV and the 
registrations are revoked 

• Utah law requires a vehicle identified as uninsured to be impounded with 
certain exceptions for public safety reasons  (Starting in March, there is a 
method to have the fees reimbursed under certain circumstances after a 
hearing at DLD) 

• The current uninsured rate in Utah is consistently under 5%.  By statute the 
match rate and uninsured rate have been audited and verified by Utah State 
Auditors 8 times 

• We upload a file to Motor Vehicle Enforcement every week that identifies all 
the vehicles that the owner reported as out of service (plate readers notify the 
officer when an out of service vehicle is discovered on the road) 



The Letter Campaign 

• The first letter is sent 90 days after the database 
identifies a vehicle as uninsured 
– For a couple of years the Legislature changed that to 60 

days, 90 days proved to be more efficient 

• The recipient has 15 days to respond 

• If they fail to respond a second letter is sent 
informing them that failure to respond to this letter 
will result in the revocation of the registration 

• If they fail to respond again, an electronic file is sent 
to the DMV and they generate and send the 
revocation order 



Letter Recipients Options 

• Customers responding to letters have multiple 
options: 

• Snail mail; The bottom of each letter provides the owner 
with a way show the vehicle in question is exempt from 
liability requirements, i.e. Sold, Our of Service, Seasonal, 
Military 

• Customers are given a PIN for use with our WEB Site 
reply system which has the same options as the snail mail 
option 

• Customers can fax in the reply or if they are actually 
insured have their agent fax the DEC page  

• Customers can call the office and talk to a real person 



Utah Customer Service 

• All calls are either answered or called back 
the same working day 

• Utah CSR’s do not use “scripts” when 
responding to customer inquiries 

• CSR’s are empowered to solve problems 

• Although rare, there is an escalation process 
for very challenging customers  



Customized application for the Driver 
License Financial Responsibility Unit and 

the DMV supervisors and researchers' 
 

• Provides the ability to verify insurance status 
on a specific date 

• Provides the exact response a police officer 
received when they ran the vehicle tag (Utah 
law provides for a refund if a vehicle is 
impounded improperly) 



SUMMARY 

• The end game of any verification program is 
to reduce the uninsured rate 

– Owners must understand they are required to 
maintain insurance/financial responsibility 

– Owners must know if the fail to do so they will 
be identified 

– There must be a sure consequence when they 
are identified  

– No insurance verification system is perfect 



Summary Continued 
• Whatever system a State chooses must be 

accurate and timely 

• The only way to assure an accurate system 
is to require a full book download and a 
matching process that exceeds 95% 
accuracy  

• No action should be taken against an owner 
until they have been uninsured at least 60, 
preferably 90, days (including changing the 
insurance status) 

• Under no circumstances should an 
unconfirmed response based on a WEB 
service inquiry result in a law enforcement 
action                       


