Fraudulent Driver Licenses
In 1998 there were 1,298 alcohol-related
accidents in Oklahoma involving persons between the ages of 18 and 26
years of age which resulted in 53 deaths. Data showing that a large
percentage of these drivers were underage and used fraudulent driver
licenses to purchase the alcohol received increased attention from the
Legislature, the Department of Public Safety, law enforcement in general
and the public.
In the past year, the Department of Public
Safety issued 16,172 duplicate driver licenses to the 18-26 year old
age group - 7,225 were issued to the 18-20 years old age group and 8,947
were issued to the 21-26 years old age group. These numbers indicate
at least three duplicates and sometimes as many as nine duplicates per
person have been issued. Computer scanned ID cards and driver licenses
and Internet driver licenses are equally as big a problem as duplicates.
|In response to the disproportionately
high numbers of duplicate driver licenses issued to these age groups
and the need to curtail this practice, the Legislature passed legislation
to phase in the Digital Image Driver License and has added judicious
breadth to the current fraudulent driver license laws.
Summary of Actions
Digital Driver License Provisions -
- Provides Oklahoma with a state-of-the-art driver license and identification
card system utilizing digital technology security features including
digital fingerprint, photo and signature.
- Reduces the possibility of identity
theft or abuse.
- Deters under age drinking and purchase
of tobacco products.
- Enables fast and accurate replacement
of lost or stolen driver license or identification card.
- Provides the state a secure process
for driver license or identification card renewal.
- Provides law enforcement access to
driver license photographs for identification purposes.
Fraudulent Driver License Provisions
- SB 1406
- Requires any male, at the time of application or renewal of a
driver license, between 18 and 25 years of age to present documentation
that he has complied with the requirements of Section 3 of the Military
Selective Service Act, 50 U.S.C. App. Sec. 453, as amended.
- Requires every applicant for a driver
license to provide primary and secondary proofs of identity.
- In case of lost license, requires
every applicant for a duplicate driver license to show a primary
and secondary proof of identity which shall include a minimum of
a birth certificate and a notarized affidavit of another licensed
Oklahoma driver over the age of 21.
- When renewing a driver license, requires
the applicant to show primary and secondary proofs of identity.
- Authorizes the Department of Public
Safety to cancel or deny a person's driving privilege if:
- the person was not entitled to a driver license issued to that
- the person fails to give correct information in the application,
- the person committed or aided another person in obtaining a fraudulent
driver license or identification card.
- Makes it unlawful for any person with
fraudulent intent to lend, sell, or otherwise offer the use of the
person's name, address, social security number, date of birth, or
any other personal identifying information or document to any other
person with the intent to allow the other person to use the information
to obtain any identifying document in the name of the other person.
Any person convicted of violating this provision shall be guilty
of identity theft which is a felony offense.
Contact For More Information:
The Oklahoma State Senate, Senate Staff
Senator Stratton Taylor, President Pro Tempore