Motor vehicle crashes are
the leading cause of death among teens in Oklahoma. Sixteen
year-old drivers have more crashes than any other age group.
Surviving the first few crucial months of driving isn't easy
- 25% of new drivers have a crash or receive a ticket in
their first driving year. In 1998 there were 140,000 drivers
involved in crashes. 18,450 of the drivers were between the
ages of 15 and 18 years of age, which represents 13% of the
total drivers involved in crashes. There were 769 fatalities
of which 490 of the fatalities were the drivers. Of the 490
drivers killed, 43 were drivers between the ages of 15-18.
This age group represents 8.8% of the drivers killed.
Traffic collisions are the leading cause of death for
Graduated Driver Licensing
(GDL) works. GDL phases in driving privileges as the new
driver gains experience behind the wheel. Easing young
drivers into the traffic environment through more controlled
exposure to progressively more difficult driving experiences
can reduce their traffic crashes.
In response to the
disproportionately high incidence of motor vehicle crashes
involving youthful motorists and the need to develop a
graduated licensing system, Oklahoma became the 33rd state
in the nation to pass legislation to safeguard the lives of
novice teen drivers. SB 413, the Graduated Driver Licensing
bill, was signed by Governor Keating on May 17. It takes
effect August 15, 2000. This bill, which only affects those
students who live in school districts which offer driver
education but encourages all persons to take a driver
education course, provides for both restricted and
unrestricted driver licenses for those persons 16 years or
age or older.
SB 413 Graduated Driver License
drive but only with driver education instructor
sitting next to the students on the front seat
of the vehicle. No permit or license
Students in a
driver education class or under parent's
supervision (certified by sworn affidavit
through the Department of Public Safety) may
take a written test and receive a learner's
permit. Students may then drive, but only with a
licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the
front seat with the student driver.
students may take written/driving tests and
obtain full-unrestricted license.
education students may take written/driving
tests and obtain a restricted license. They can
then drive during daylight hours - and also at
night, but only to and from school, school
functions, work and church-related activities.
One passenger is permitted. Family members are
also permitted. More non-family members are
permitted if a parent or guardian is a passenger
in the front seat.
Those who have
been issued a restricted license and have not
been cited for any moving violations may take a
driving test and obtain a full-unrestricted
written and driving tests may obtain a
full-unrestricted license, assuming these tests
have not already been passed in connection with
obtaining a restricted license.
- Those at
least 16 years of age who attend a school
where driver education is not available may
take written and driving tests and obtain a
full unrestricted license.
- Current law
regarding motorcycle licensure is
- Students are
in no way required to take driver education,
nor are schools required to offer driver
The Oklahoma State Senate, Senate Staff
Senator Stratton Taylor, President Pro