Oklahoma City, OK 73105
For Immediate Release: March 23, 2017
Sen. Kim David
Senate approves Impaired
Driving Elimination Act 2
Senate unanimously passed legislation Wednesday to change how first-time
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offenses are handled in Oklahoma.
Sen. Kim David is the author of Senate Bill 643, also known as the
Impaired Driver Elimination Act 2 (IDEA2), which is strongly supported
by Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD). The legislation would create
the Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP) within the Department
of Public Safety (DPS).
“This program will allow the state to recognize and help first
time DUI offenders in the hopes that they won’t make the same
mistake twice. A majority of these first time offenders simply weren’t
thinking and used bad judgment,” said David, R-Porter. “We’re
all human and make mistakes but it’s whether we learn from
them the first time that matters. We need to separate these individuals
from those who have an addiction and are much more likely to re-offend.”
Only first-time DUI offenders would be eligible to enter the program.
Participants could have their license revocation reduced from one
year to six months. If they successfully complete the program, their
driving record will reflect that as well as no revocation, which
will prevent higher insurance rates and will make seeking employment
easier. Participants will also not be charged any reinstatement
Those wishing to enter IDAP would have ten days from the date of
their arrest to submit their application form. They would also have
to have an ADSAC or DUI assessment reflecting a treatment category
of I or II within 45 days as well as provide proof of installation
of an interlock device. Participants would also be required to not
receive any verified ignition violations during their last 60 days
in the program.
“The program is designed to get ignition interlocks devices
in all offenders’ vehicles if they want to continue to drive.
If a person is eligible to go into the IDEA2 program and that person
completes the requirements without re-offending then their license
is not revoked,” explained David. “The program is much
more severe on repeat offenders. The final intention is to identify
those who need treatment for their addiction and get them off our
Anyone who refuses to go into the program will be required to have
a modified license and an interlock device on their vehicle for
one year (rather than the current 180 days) before they can reinstate
their license. The revocation will go on their record.
SB 643 makes it a misdemeanor for anyone to operate a non-interlock
vehicle for a drunk driver who is in the IDAP program or has an
interlock restricted license. It would also make refusing a breath
test following a suspected drunk driving arrest a misdemeanor punishable
with up to ten days in jail or a $1,000 fine.
The bill, which was requested by the Governor’s Impaired Driving
Prevention Advisory Council, now goes to the House of Representatives
for further consideration.
more information contact: