Oklahoma City, OK 73105
For Immediate Release: February 23, 2017
Sen. Kim David
Impaired Driving Elimination Act
2 passes out of Senate Committee
Senate Public Safety Committee gave the green light to the Impaired
Driver Elimination Act 2 (IDEA2) Thursday. Sen. Kim
David, R-Porter, is the author of Senate Bill 643, which will
create the Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP) within
the Department of Public Safety for first time DUI offenders while
their license is revoked.
“This program will help identify first time offenders who
simply made a one-time mistake versus those who have had repeat
offenses in the past and need services to address their addiction,”
said David. “Those who agree to go into the program must go
through a mental health evaluation and have an interlock device
for 180 days. During the last 60 days, they must have no positive
violations to be able to get their license back. They’ll still
be on probation but their record won’t show a revocation,
which will keep them from being subject to higher insurance rates
and they’ll be able to obtain a job easier.”
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA), Oklahoma ranked 51st worst for impaired driving fatality
rates from 2000 – 2010. However, Oklahoma has seen a 34 percent
decrease in alcohol-impaired crashes.
“While steps have been taken in recent years to strengthen
our impaired driving laws, more must be done. In 2014, 154 Oklahomans
were killed in impaired driving crashes involving a driver over
the legal blood alcohol level,” said David. “One lost
life is too many. This program will help decrease the likelihood
of first time offenders re-offending, which could save lives and
make our roads safer.”
Participants in the IDAP program or who seek driving privileges
during a license suspension must pay $50 for an interlock restricted
license. Upon completion of the program, there will be no revocation
on their license and they will not be charged any reinstatement
The measure makes it a misdemeanor for anyone to operate a non-interlock
vehicle for a drunk driver who is in the IDAP program or has an
interlock restricted license.
Those who refuse to go into the program will have to have a modified
license and an interlock device on their vehicle for one year (rather
than the current 180 days) before they can reinstate their license.
The revocation will go on their record.
SB 643 was recommended by the Governor’s Impaired Driving
Prevention Advisory Council. It is strongly supported by Mothers
Against Drunk Driving (MADD).
The bill will now go before the full Senate Appropriations Committee.
For more information contact: