Link to main pageLink to SenatorsLink to LegislationLink to ScheduleLink to CommitteesLink to PublicationsLink to NewsLink to Staff

Oklahoma State Senate
Senate Democratic Leader
Senator John Sparks
Democratic Leader
Senate District 16
Cleveland County

For Immediate Release: January 5, 2017

Sen. John Sparks
Sen. John Sparks

Senate Democratic Leader John Sparks announces leadership team

Senate Democratic Leader John Sparks has announced his appointments to the caucus leadership team for the 2017 and 2018 legislative sessions. Sparks, D-Norman, released the assignments on Thursday.
“I’m honored to work with such a talented, hard working group of senators. Like our colleagues across the aisle, we want to move our state forward, though we sometimes have different ideas on the best ways to accomplish this,” Sparks said. “Through their leadership positions, committee work and votes on the floor, our members will promote positive solutions that will create a better future for all Oklahomans.”
The Democratic leadership for the 56th State Legislature is:

Democratic Leader – Sen. John Sparks, District 16, D-Norman
Democratic Leader Emeritus – Sen. Randy Bass, District 32, D-Lawton
Assistant Democratic Leader – Sen. Anastasia Pittman, District 48, D-Oklahoma City
Democratic Caucus Chair – Sen. Kay Floyd, District 46, D-Oklahoma City
Democratic Caucus Vice Chair – Sen. Kevin Matthews, District 11, D-Tulsa
Democratic Whip – Sen. J.J. Dossett, District 34, D-Sperry

The 2017 legislative session begins on Monday, February 6.

For more information, contact:
Sen. Sparks: 405-521-5553

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

January Press Releases | Press Releases