Oklahoma City, OK 73105
For Immediate Release: January 22, 2015
Sen. Ron Sharp
Senate bill to ensure DUI offenders have
Sharp has filed legislation to address Oklahoma’s high
number of uninsured motorists especially those with DUI convictions.
Senate Bill 260 would require an individual convicted of Driving
Under the Influence (DUI) to have valid auto insurance on file with
the Department of Public Safety for at least one year after their
“We have a problem with people convicted of DUIs having no
auto insurance. They have found a loophole in our law whereby they
can buy auto insurance to get their tag renewed and then cancel
the policy after one month. Others simply go purchase a new car
and auto insurance under another name,” said Sharp, R-Shawnee.
“Hopefully, this bill will prevent DUI offenders from sneaking
around the law and ensure they get and maintain the auto insurance
that they are legally required to have.”
Under SB 260, the offender’s insurance company would be responsible
for keeping an SR 22 Form on file with DPS whether the individual
was convicted in Oklahoma or another state. If the individual drops
their coverage, the insurance company will then send an SR 29 Form
If DPS is notified by the insurance company that the individual
has cancelled their insurance policy, the agency will then notify
the person that he or she has 10 days to demonstrate proof of continuous
vehicle insurance or request a hearing to demonstrate insurance
coverage. If the individual cannot show proof of insurance for the
vehicle in question, DPS will revoke their registration and suspend
their driving privileges. The suspension or revocation will continue
until the individual provides satisfactory proof of insurance to
DPS. The individual will also be required to pay a reinstatement
fee of $100. If someone’s registration is revoked within one
year of a prior revocation a $300 reinstatement fee must be paid.
The measure makes it unlawful for a vehicle that’s registration
has been revoked for lack of insurance to be reregistered in the
name of the owner, the owner’s spouse, parent or child, or
any member of the same household until the owner obtains insurance.
If an owner of a vehicle, registered or required to be registered
in Oklahoma, is found driving or allowing someone else to drive
the vehicle without insurance and makes a false certification concerning
having insurance then he or she will be guilty of a misdemeanor.
Any person, firm or corporation that gives false information to
DPS concerning someone’s vehicle insurance will also be guilty
of a misdemeanor.
For more information, contact:
Sen. Sharp: (405) 521-5539