Link to main pageLink to SenatorsLink to LegislationLink to ScheduleLink to CommitteesLink to PublicationsLink to NewsLink to Staff

Oklahoma State Senate
Communications Division
State Capitol
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

For Immediate Release: June 18, 2013

Gov. Mary Fallin held a ceremonial signed of House Bill 1792 by Rep. Mike Christian and  Sen. Corey Brooks last week.
Gov. Mary Fallin held a ceremonial signed of House Bill 1792 by Rep. Mike Christian and
Sen. Corey Brooks last week. Pictured L-R: Wagoner County Sheriff Bob Colbert;
Danny Ramsey, Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma; Dave Koeneke, OK Safety Council;
Chuck Mai, AAA; Stephens County Sheriff Wayne McKinney; Kyle Coulter, OK Insurance Dept.;
Dan Case, OK Trucking Association; State Sen. Corey Brooks; Rick Wagnon, OK Insurance Dept.;
State Sen. David Holt; Paul Wilkening, OK Insurance Dept; Debbie Doak, Wife of Insurance
Commissioner John Doak; Insurance Commissioner John Doak; State Rep. Lewis Moore;
Miami Police Chief George Harlson; Owen Laughlin, OK Insurance Dept.; and Dr. Rick Farmer, OK Insurance Dept.

New Law will decrease uninsured motorists

A new law targeting uninsured motorists will help decrease the number of Oklahomans who drive without insurance. That’s according to Sen. Corey Brooks and Rep. Mike Christian, R-Oklahoma City, who co-authored House Bill 1792. The two joined Gov. Mary Fallin for a ceremonial bill signing at the state Capitol last week.

The new law gives law enforcement the authority to remove the tag from an uninsured vehicle and replace it with a temporary sticker that would be good for ten days. During that period the driver would have minimum insurance coverage. Once the driver pays a mandatory $125 administrative fee, which would fund the 10 day coverage, and provide proof of insurance, the tag would be returned.

“One in four drivers in our state is uninsured,” said Brooks, R-Washington. “That means higher premiums for drivers who obey the law, so the rest of us are paying the price. If you are hit by an uninsured driver, you can be left holding the bag for even more. The whole idea behind this new law is to make sure that happens less often in our state.”

HB 1792 is based on similar measures in Louisiana and South Carolina. Before each state adopted the temporary sticker law, the two states had uninsured motorist rates of about 30 percent. Now, Louisiana has a rate of 12 to 13 percent, and South Carolina’s is just eight to nine percent.

“As a retired State Trooper, I know first-hand that uninsured drivers are a big problem for our state,” said Christian, R-Oklahoma City. “Not only does it result in higher rates for everyone else, but it costs the state about $9 million in lost revenues that could be used for public safety, education and better roads. Getting more drivers to comply with the law will benefit all of us.”

The new law will officially take effect beginning November 1, 2013.

For more information, contact:
Sen. Brooks: (405) 521-5522

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

June Press Releases | Press Releases