Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
For Immediate Release: May 14, 2013
Sen. Don Barrington
State Department of Public Safety bill signed into law
A measure to keep the Oklahoma Department of Public
Safety (DPS) in federal compliance, protect Oklahoma’s federal
funding and help the agency fund numerous projects was signed into
law Monday. Sen. Don
Barrington, author of Senate Bill 652, said the bill will help
improve services provided by the agency.
“This is an important bill that addresses several issues within
the state Department of Public Safety including keeping the agency
in federal compliance and providing it with much-needed funding,”
said Barrington, R-Lawton.
In order to comply with new federal CDL regulations set to take
effect July 1, 2014, SB 652 establishes a commercial learner permit
for those applying for a commercial driver license. The permit will
be valid for 180 days and may be renewed once for an additional
180 days. Barrington noted that failure to comply with the new federal
rule would put Oklahoma out of compliance with the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration, which would put Oklahoma’s
CDL program in jeopardy and also up to 10 percent of federal highway
funds that are awarded to the Oklahoma Department of Transportation.
The measure also increases the fees for driver licenses by $10.
Barrington pointed out that this is the first fee increase the agency
has had in ten years and will help cover the ever-increasing costs
of providing services to the public.
“Instead of asking for an increased appropriation, the agency
requested this $10 fee increase, which will help generate approximately
$8.7 million to help hire additional driver license clerks; pay
for new hardware and software required to maintain the Driver License
division as well as assist the agency in fixing and updating the
state’s 800MHz radio system, which is used by the Oklahoma
Highway Patrol, emergency personnel and law enforcement officers
throughout the state,” said Barrington.
SB 652 allows the Department to accept skills test results from
another state. The bill also requires the Department to conduct
an annual criminal history background check on designated examiners
and allows the agency to revoke the driving privileges of anyone
convicted of fraud related to examination or issuance of a commercial
learner permit and for failure to submit to skills reexamination.
SB 652 will become law on November 1, 2013.
For more information, contact:
Sen. Barrington: (405) 521-5563