Link to main pageLink to SenatorsLink to LegislationLink to ScheduleLink to CommitteesLink to PublicationsLink to NewsLink to Staff

Oklahoma State Senate
Communications Division
State Capitol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

For Immediate Release: November 14, 2012

Senators take the oath of office.
New and reelected members of the State Senate took the Oath of Office during a ceremony at the State Capitol on Wednesday.

Senators Take Oath of Office

Newly elected and reelected members of the Oklahoma State Senate took the oath of office on Wednesday in the Senate chamber. Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb, President of the Senate, presided over the ceremony, and the oath was administered by the Honorable Steven W. Taylor, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Eight newly elected members took the oath of office, including Larry Boggs, R-Red Oak; Corey Brooks, R-Washington; Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow; Kyle Loveless, R-Oklahoma City; Ron Sharp, R-Shawnee; Wayne Shaw, R-Grove; Jabar Shumate, D-Tulsa; and Rob Standridge, R-Norman. Shumate previously served in the House of Representatives.

Sixteen members were reelected to the Senate. Those taking the oath on Wednesday included Patrick Anderson, R-Enid; Don Barrington, R-Lawton; Brian Crain, R-Tulsa; Jerry Ellis, D-Valliant; John Ford, R-Bartlesville; Earl Garrison, D-Muskogee; Jim Halligan, R-Stillwater; Clark Jolley, R-Edmond; Ron Justice, R-Chickasha; Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward; Dan Newberry, R-Tulsa; Susan Paddack, D-Ada; Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa; Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City; and Charles Wyrick, D-Fairland. Sen. Mike Mazzei, R-Tulsa, was unable to attend and will be sworn in on Friday.

The full Senate will return for an organizational day on Tuesday, January 8, 2013, with the First Session of the 54th Legislature formally convening on Monday, February 4.

For more information contact:
Sen. Bingman: (405) 521-5605

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

November Press Releases | Press Releases