Link to main pageLink to SenatorsLink to LegislationLink to ScheduleLink to CommitteesLink to PublicationsLink to NewsLink to Staff

Oklahoma State Senate
Communications Division
State Capitol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

For Immediate Release: May 8, 2012

Sen. Anthony Sykes
Sen. Anthony Sykes

Senate Judiciary Committee Makes History

For the first time in Oklahoma history, the State Senate has officially become part of the confirmation process for the Judiciary. On Tuesday morning, the Senate Judiciary Committee, chaired by State Sen. Anthony Sykes, gave recommendations on four judicial nominees for the State Workers’ Compensation Court.

“This change is a part of our ongoing effort to bring important reform to Oklahoma’s workers compensation system,” explained Sykes, R-Moore. “Involving the Senate in the process gives our citizens greater input, and I think that’s an important and positive reform.”

Sykes said the Judiciary Committee gave approval to the four individuals nominated by Gov. Mary Fallin to serve on the Workers’ Compensation Court. Those included Margaret Bomhoff of Edmond sponsored, by Sen. Clark Jolley, R-Edmond; Michael McGivern from Tulsa, sponsored by Sen. Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa; Carla Snipes of Oklahoma City, sponsored by Sen. David Holt, R-Oklahoma City; and L. Bradley Taylor of Tulsa, sponsored by Sen. Brian Crain, R-Tulsa. If confirmed by the full Senate, each will serve an eight-year term ending July 1, 2020.

“It is an honor and a privilege to serve as Judiciary Chairman during this historic time. Moving forward, I believe we will continue to see the benefits of this reform as we work together to make Oklahoma the best it can be, now and for many years to come,” Sykes said.

For more information, contact:
Sen. Sykes: (405) 521-5569

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

May Press Releases | Press Releases