Senate approves Caylee’s Law
The state Senate has approved Caylee’s
Law, a measure requiring parents or guardians to report
that a child has gone missing within a 48-hour period.
Sen. Ralph Shortey, author of Senate Bill 1721, said the
bill was motivated by the 2011 trial of Casey Anthony, who
was convicted of lying to police regarding the disappearance
of her daughter. SB 1721 creates a felony for failure to
report a missing child within 48 hours.
“The Casey Anthony case had a significant impact on
people across the country concerned with the value of human
life,” said Shortey, R-Oklahoma City. “The case
also exposed a statutory loophole in laws relating to the
reporting of missing children. Under this law, parents or
guardians who lie to the police about the disappearance
of a child will face real penalties.”
Shortey noted the state currently has few statutes relating
to the reporting of disappearances.
“My hope is that this legislation can prevent similar
tragedies from occurring in Oklahoma, and bring those who
would harm children to justice,” he said.
Senate Bill 1721 now advances to the House for consideration.