Oklahoma State Senate
Communications Division
State Capitol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

For Immediate Release: February 8, 2011

Senate Republican Rural Caucus Announces Agenda

The Senate Republican Rural Caucus announced their legislative agenda today along with explaining their vision for improving the quality of life in rural Oklahoma. The Caucus reassured Oklahomans of their commitment to the Senate Republican agenda released prior to session, but with a special focus on issues critical to rural Oklahoma, making public safety, education and transportation top priorities.

“Rural Oklahomans have different priorities and we are here to listen to those priorities and protect the interests of our rural constituents,” said Senator Ron Justice, R-Chickasha, Chairman of the Rural Caucus.

“Our commitment is to not only follow the Senate Republican Agenda, but also understand the ways rural Oklahomans are affected differently and enact legislation improving the quality of life for those Oklahomans,” continued Justice.

Rural Caucus Agenda items include:

· Protect agricultural tax exemptions

· Continue our efforts to direct more motor vehicle taxes and fees to the improvement of county roads and bridges

· Protect Oklahoma’s rural schools

· Ensure the protection of private property rights

· Improve access to rural healthcare professionals and facilities

· Enhance access to ambulance and fire services

· Address first responder training issues in rural Oklahoma

· Continue to support rural conservation issues

· Support funding of the REAP program

The Senate Republican Rural Caucus is made up of 17 senators from across the state who represent the best interests of those outside metropolitan areas. Rural Caucus members include: Sen. Mark Allen, Spiro; Sen. Patrick Anderson, Enid; Sen. Don Barrington, Lawton; Sen. Brian Bingman, Sapulpa; Sen. Josh Brecheen, Coalgate; Sen. Harry Coates, Seminole; Sen. Kim David, Wagoner; Sen. Eddie Fields, Wynonna; Sen. John Ford, Bartlesville; Sen. Jim Halligan, Stillwater; Sen. Rob Johnson, Kingfisher; Sen. Ron Justice, Chickasha; Sen. Bryce Marlatt, Woodward; Sen. David Myers, Ponca City; Sen. Mike Schulz, Altus; Sen. Frank Simpson, Springer and Sen. Anthony Sykes, Moore.

The 2011 Legislative session began Monday, February 7, and will end no later than Friday, May 27, 2011.

For more information contact:
Senator Justice: (405) 521-5537

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

February Press Releases | Press Releases