Oklahoma State Senate
Communications Division
State Capitol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

For Immediate Release: February 7, 2011

Sen. Bryce Marlatt and 2010 Jim Thorpe Award winner Patrick Peterson
Sen. Bryce Marlatt and 2010 Jim Thorpe Award winner Patrick Peterson

Senate Honors 2010 Jim Thorpe Award Winner Patrick Peterson

2010 Jim Thorpe Award winner Patrick Peterson was honored on the floor of the state Senate on Monday. The Senate unanimously approved Senate Resolution 1, recognizing and commending the standout cornerback from Louisiana State University.

As a junior, Peterson was named a first-team All-American by the Associated Press, and was selected as Defensive Player of the Year by Southeastern Conference coaches. He finished the season with 42 tackles, four interceptions and six pass breakups. Peterson also received the 2010 Bednarik Award, recognizing him as the nation’s top collegiate defender.

Sen. Bryce Marlatt, author of Senate Resolution 1, said Peterson was a great athlete, with a bright future ahead.

“Patrick Peterson is an exceptional football player who has displayed outstanding leadership throughout his career,” said Marlatt, R-Woodward. “He’s a very deserving recipient of this award, and I wish him the very best of luck in his professional career. More importantly, he has distinguished himself as a fine all-around student athlete.”

Peterson was a three-year letterman for the Tigers. In addition to his accomplishments as a junior, Peterson earned second-team All-America honors from the Sporting News as a sophomore.

“We want to thank Patrick for his hard work,” Marlatt said. “We understand that this has been a life-long effort to reach Division 1 football and to play at such a high level. We are honored to have you represent Oklahoma as the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award winner."

For more information contact:
Sen. Marlatt: (405) 521-5626

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

February Press Releases | Press Releases