News Main Menu Bar Link to main page Link to Senators Link to Legislation Link to Schedule Link to Committees Link to Publications Link to News Link to Staff
News Navigation Menu Audio Clips OETA Capitol Coverage Podcasts Senator Photos Week In Review Press Releases Main Senate page.

Oklahoma State Senate
Senator Mike Morgan
president Pro Tempore
Senate District 21
Payne, Logan and Lincoln Counties

For Immediate Release: January 2, 2007

Senator Mike Morgan  
Senator Mike Morgan  


Morgan Elected to Second Term as Senate Leader

Stillwater Democrat Mike Morgan was elected to a second term as the President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate Tuesday as part of the Constitutional organization day for the 51st Oklahoma Legislature.

As part of an historic power-sharing agreement, Morgan will serve as president pro tempore through June 30 and again from August 1 through November 19, 2008. Oklahoma City Republican Glenn Coffee was elected to serve as president pro tem for the month of July 2007.

The November elections left the State Senate equally divided with 24 Democrats and 24 Republicans.

“A great opportunity awaits us. We have the chance in this historic session to put aside our partisan differences, to seek common ground and form a consensus that will best serve the needs of the people of Oklahoma,” Morgan said. “We will have differences of opinion, but we must work through those differences to create a better tomorrow for the next generation of Oklahomans.”

The 51st Oklahoma Legislature will reconvene February 5.

For more information contact:
Senate President Pro Tem Mike Morgan'ss Office - (405) 521-5605

Inon: Horizontal Blue Band

January Press Releases | Press Releases