Oklahoma State Senate
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
For Immediate Release: May 17,
Sen. Charles Wyrick
Gov. Signs Jessica Lunsford’s Law
A bill to require high-tech monitoring for convicted
sex offenders has been signed into law. Sen. Charles Wyrick, D-Fairland,
principal author of the measure, said Gov. Brad Henry signed SB
631, “Jessica Lunsford’s Law” on Tuesday at the
The bill, co-authored in the House by Rep. Terry Ingmire, R-Stillwater,
is named for a little girl in Florida who was sexually assaulted
and murdered. The suspect in that case is a convicted sex offender
and had been wearing a global positioning system (GPS) monitor.
Unfortunately a judge had ordered it removed a few days before the
“By requiring convicted sex offenders to wear GPS monitors,
we can track them at any time, any place. I believe this will help
us do a better job of protecting our citizens from society’s
most depraved predators,” Wyrick said.
Wyrick pointed to research showing inmates monitored by GPS had
lower recidivism rates than inmates who were not monitored. A Florida
report showed offenders released from prison without GPS monitoring
re-offended about 33 percent of the time compared to just 1.5 percent
for those tracked by GPS. None of the new offenses committed by
sex offenders on GPS were sex crimes.
“This shows that if they know they’re being watched,
the public is safer,” Wyrick said.
Currently, there are approximately 3,000 sex offenders in the custody
of the Department of Corrections. When they are released, their
names and addresses are listed on the state’s sex offender
registry. However, not all offenders comply with the sex offender
“Those individuals are supposed to notify law enforcement
any time they move to a new address but right now there are more
than 1,500 who are ignoring the law. With GPS we’ll be able
to do a better job of verifying where these sex offenders are really
living,” Wyrick said.
Under SB 631, convicted sex offenders placed on probation or parole
will now be required to wear an active GPS monitoring device for
the duration of their required registration period. The required
registration period is life for habitual sexual offenders and 10
years for other sex offenders. The measure also requires sex offenders
to pay for the cost of their own monitoring.
The new law applies to all sex offenders convicted from May 17,
Office- (405) 521-5774